Safeguarding

Section 175 of the Education Act 2002 gives maintained schools a statutory duty to promote and safeguard the welfare of children, and have due regard to guidance issued by the Secretary of State. 

At Benhurst Primary School, we recognise our legal and moral duty to promote the well-being of children, and to protect them from harm and respond to child abuse. The physical, emotional and spiritual welfare of our pupils is at the fore of all we do. Every child has the right to feel safe and protected from any situation or practice that results in a child being physically, psychologically or spiritually damaged.

Should you have a worry or concern about someone in our school community, please speak to a member of our Safeguarding Team.

 

Our Safeguarding policy and other key policies can be found in the policies section of our website.

 

Our Safeguarding Team

Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mr Denchfield (Headteacher) ddenchfield@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

 

Deputy Safeguarding Leads

Mrs Hart (Deputy Headteacher) khart@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

Mrs Garratty (Assiatant Head teacher) kgarratty@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

Mrs Loyns (Assistant Head teacher) kloyns@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

 

Online Safety Lead

Mrs McCarthy (IT Lead) smccarthy@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

 

Safeguarding Governor

Mrs Watkins c/o cwatkins@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

 

Behaviour & Safety Healthcheck Govenors

Mrs Watkins c/o cwatkins@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

Mrs Fakayode c/o yfakayode@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

 

Prevent Designated Lead

Mr Denchfield (Headteacher) ddenchfield@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

 

LAC Designated Lead

Mr Denchfield (Headteacher) ddenchfield@benhurst.havering.sch.uk

 

Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO)

Lisa Kennedy 01708 431653 lado@havering.gov.uk

 

Havering Safeguarding

NSPCC

Childline

Counselling directory

Keeping Children Safe in Education

Child Exploitation and Online Protection

How to protect your child from abuse (by Charles Fortt, a leading safeguarding expert)